Commonwealth CCM Universalization Workshop

The Commonwealth Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) Universalisation Workshop took place on March 2, 2023, at the Queen Elizabeth II Centre in London, England. The workshop was organised by the Implementation Support Unit and sponsored by the government of the United Kingdom in its role as the President of the 10th Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions (10MSP).



H.E Ambassador Aidan Liddle, UK Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva opened the workshop by warmly welcoming Nigeria as the newest  CCM State Party having just ratified the Convention on 28 February 2023. Ambassador Liddle outlined the important role that the Convention plays in promoting the norm against the use of cluster munitions. He noted how abhorrent the weapons are and the need for all countries to join the CCM in a strong demonstration of solidarity with cluster munition-affected States.

Speaking on behalf of the Commonwealth Secretariat, Ms. Anna Sherburn, Acting Head, of Countering Violent Extremism CVE,  Governance and Peace Directorate of Commonwealth highlighted the strong principles held by the Commonwealth members that support international peace and development. She pointed out that it was timely to discuss the universalization of the Convention as it was in line with the recently announced theme of Commonwealth Day 2023 “Forging a sustainable and peaceful common future”.


Spain, CCM Coordinator on Universalisation, as well as the Implementation Support Unit of the Convention (ISU), the Cluster Munitions Coalition (CMC), and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) provided comprehensive presentations on the key operative articles and obligations under the Convention.

The workshop offered an opportunity for the participating Signatory and non-Signatory States of the Commonwealth to discuss the perceived challenges and possible solutions to joining the 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions. The States participating in the interactive sessions included Cyprus, Gabon, Jamaica, Malaysia, Tanzania, and Uganda with the experience-sharing of States Parties, Nigeria, Spain and the United Kingdom.