States meet in Manila for CCM Asia-Pacific regional workshop

On 18-19 June 2019, 13 countries met in Manila, Philippines, to discuss the universalization and implementation of the CCM. The workshop was organized by the Philippines in collaboration with New Zealand and with the support of the ISU-CCM.

The event brought together 8 States not Party (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Vietnam) and 5 States Parties (Lao PDR, New Zealand, Philippines, Sri Lanka, and Switzerland). The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and the Cluster Munition Coalition (CMC) were also in attendance as expert resources. The workshop was made possible through the generous contribution of New Zealand and Switzerland and the in-kind support provided by the Philippines.

As of June 2019, 120 States have committed to the goals of the CCM, 106 as States Parties and 14 as signatories. Increase in adherence with the Convention especially in Asia Pacific would be critical in reaching its 130 States Parties target by 2020. Click here for additional information on the seminar.