The Sixth Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions(6MSP) ended on Wednesday 7th September in Geneva with the adoption of
a Political Declaration.

Through the Political Declaration, States announced their intention to complete
the implementation of their Convention obligations by 2030 at the latest.


H.E. Ambassador Henk Cor van der Kwast, Permanent Representative of the Netherlands to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva and Disarmament Ambassador at large, who presided over the meeting, handed over the Presidency of the Convention on Cluster Munitions to H.E. Ambassador Michael Biontino, Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva.

Ambassador Michael Biontino of Germany 7MSP President1

The Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM)

The Convention prohibits all use, production, transfer and stockpiling of cluster munitions. In addition, it establishes a framework for cooperation and assistance to ensure adequate care and rehabilitation to survivors and their communities, clearance of contaminated areas, risk reduction education and destruction of stockpiles.

Cluster munitions are unacceptable for two reasons. Firstly, they have wide area effects and are unable to distinguish between civilians and combatants. Secondly, the use of cluster munitions leave behind large numbers of dangerous unexploded ordnance. Such remnants kill and injure civilians, obstruct economic and social development, and have other severe consequences that persist for years and decades after use.

Adopted on 30 May 2008 in Dublin, Ireland and signed on 3-4 December 2008 in Oslo, Norway, the Convention on Cluster Munitions entered into force on 01 August 2010. To date 119 states have joined the Convention —100 States Parties and 19 Signatories.

Full text versions of the Convention for download in English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Arabic.