12th anniversary of CCM entry into force

The Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) was adopted in Dublin on 30 May 2008 and opened for signature in Oslo on 3 December the same year. Concerns with the human suffering caused by such weapons had, however, been voiced as early as in the 1960s and 1970s.

The Convention entered into force on 1 August 2010, six months after the 30th instrument of ratification had been deposited. It is today an effective instrument of international law.

The first 30 countries to ratify the Convention (in chronological order)

Norway, Ireland, Sierra Leone, Holy See, Lao PDR, Austria, Mexico, Niger, Albania, Spain, Germany, Luxembourg, San Marino, Japan, Zambia, Croatia, Slovenia, Uruguay, Malta, France, Burundi, Malawi, North Macedonia, Nicaragua, Belgium, New Zealand, Montenegro, Denmark, Republic of Moldova, and Burkina Faso.


Aug 01 2022


All Day