Photo by Christopher Engström on Unsplash

22–23 February 2007

Oslo Conference 


The Oslo Conference on Cluster Munitions was held 22-23. February 2007. It culminated in the Oslo Declaration, which was adopted by 46 States.

The Oslo Declaration committed the States to seek the completion of an international treaty by the end of 2008 that would “prohibit the use, production, transfer and stockpiling of cluster munitions that cause unacceptable harm to civilians” and “establish a framework for cooperation and assistance that ensures adequate provision of care and rehabilitation to survivors and their communities, clearance of contaminated areas, risk education and destruction of stockpiles of prohibited cluster munitions.”


Opening statement by H.E. Jonas Gahr Støre, Foreign Minister of Norway
Statement by Norway
Chair’s summary by Norway
“Elements of a Treaty” by Gro Nystuen, University of Oslo
Statement by Handicap International
Presentation by Norwegian People’s Aid
Statement by Peru
Statement by UNIDIR
Statement by Sweden
Statement by Austria
Statement by Germany
Statement by UNDP
Statement by Ireland
Statement by Serbia
Statement by the ICRC
Statement by Bosnia and Herzegovina
Statement by Lebanon
Statement by Switzerland
Statement by the Netherlands
Statement by the Cluster Munitions Coalition
Statement by Italy
Statement by Ambassador Wolfgang Petritsch, Austria