# The Convention on Cluster Munitions

A treaty to end decades of civilian suffering

Louis Maresca
Senior Legal Adviser
ICRC



## Convention on Cluster Munitions

Prohibited under any circumstances:

- to use cluster munitions;
- to develop, produce, otherwise acquire, stockpile, retain or transfer cluster munitions;

or

• to assist, encourage or induce anyone to engage in such acts.



#### What does it cover?

Conventional munitions designed to disperse or release explosive submunitions

and

explosive bomblets dispersed or released from dispensers affixed to aircraft



#### Excluded

Munitions dispersing flares, smoke, pyrotechnics Munitions designed solely for an "air defence" role Munitions producing electrical/electronic effects

Munitions with 9 or fewer submunitions, if <u>each</u> submunition is

- designed to engage & detect a "single target object"
- equipped with electronic self-destruction and deactivation feature
- more than 4 kg



## Additional commitments

 Destruction of stockpiles - 8 years (with possibility of extension)

Clear cluster munition remnants
 10 years (with possibility of extension)

Victim assistance



# **Implications**

- Prohibits all cluster munitions known to cause humanitarian problems;
- Establishes new level of State responsibility for victim assistance;
- Most of the world has concluded that the harm to civilians outweighs military value of cluster munitions;
- Stigmatization Impact of new rules will reach beyond States Parties.



## Other key negotiating issues

• No "transition periods"

- Joint military operations" with non-party States
  - SP must promote adherence
  - SP must "discourage use
  - SP may engage in "military cooperation and operations" with NSP which might use cluster munitions
  - SP cannot itself use, produce, stockpile or transfer cluster munitions or request use.



1. Afghanistan
2. Albania
3. Angola
4. Antigua & Barbuda 5.
Australia
6. Austria
7. Belgium
8. Benin
9. Bolivia
10. Bosnia and
Herzegovina
11. Botswana
12. Bulgaria
13. Burkina Faso
14. Burundi
15. Cameroon
16. Canada
17. Cape Verde
18. Central African
Republic
19. Chad
20. Chile
21. Colombia
22. Comoros
23. Congo (Republic of)
24. Cook Islands
25. Costa Rica
26. Côte d'Ivoire
27. Croatia

	26. Cyprus
	29. Czech Republic
	30. Denmark
da 5.	31. Djibouti
	32. DR Congo
	33. Dominican Republic
	34. Ecuador
	35. El Salvador
	36. Fiji
	37. France
	38. Gambia
	39. Germany
	40. Ghana
	41. Guatemala
	42. Guinea
	43. Guinea-Bissau
	44. Haiti
	45. Holy See
	46. Honduras
	47. Hungary
	48. Iceland
	49. Indonesia
	50. Iraq
	51. Ireland
c of)	52. Italy
	53. Jamaica
	54. Japan
	55. Kenya
	56. Lao PDR

57.	Lebanon
58.	Lesotho
59.	Liberia
60.	Liechtenstein
61.	Lithuania
62.	Luxembourg
63.	Macedonia FYR
64.	Madagascar
65.	Malawi
66.	Mali
67.	Malta
68.	Mauritania
69.	Mexico
	Moldova
71.	Monaco
	Montenegro
	Mozambique
	Namibia
	Nauru
	The Netherlands
	New Zealand
	Nicaragua
	Niger
	Nigeria
	Norway
	Palau
	Panama
	Paraguay
	Peru
86.	Philippines

87. Portugal
88. Rwanda
89. Samoa
90. San Marino
91. Sao Tome &
Principe
92. Senegal
93. Seychelles
94. Sierra Leone
95. Slovenia
96. Somalia
97. South Africa
98. Spain
99. St Vincent &
Grenadines
100. Sweden
101. Switzerland
102. Tanzania
103. Togo
104. Tunisia
105. Uganda
106. United Kingdom
107. Uruguay
108. Zambia
Cameroon
Grenada
Monaco
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Swaziland
Trinidad and Tobago

