



## **Background**

The 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions is a legally binding international treaty that comprehensively prohibits the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of cluster munitions, requires destruction of stockpiled cluster munitions within eight years, and clearance of contaminated land within ten years. It recognizes the rights of individuals and communities affected by the weapon and require states to provide assistance. The Convention also obliges countries to assist affected states to fulfil their obligations.

Cluster bombs have killed and injured thousands of civilians over the last 70 years and continue to do so today. In all of the conflicts where these weapons have been used, they have left a predictable pattern of human suffering. It is this unacceptable harm that the Convention on Cluster Munitions was created to prevent.

As of June 2016, 119 states have joined the Convention on Cluster Munitions, of which 100 are States Parties, and the remaining 19 are signatories that have yet to ratify. Forty-three of 54 African countries have joined the treaty, demonstrating the African continent's strong commitment for a region free of cluster munitions. 14 African signatory-states have yet to ratify with only 10 African states yet to accede to the Convention. Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic cannot accede to the Convention on Cluster Munitions due to its political status, but has expressed its support for the ban on cluster munitions.

In 2015, the first United Nations General Assembly resolution (70/74) in support of the total ban on cluster munitions was supported by 139 countries. Forty-three African states, including eleven signatories and six non-signatories to the Convention on Cluster Munitions from the region voted in support of the resolution.

African people have been victimized by these indiscriminate weapons. Cluster munitions have been used in Angola, Chad, DRC, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Libya, Mauritania, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Uganda and Zambia, while seven African states have used cluster munitions. 18 African states possess stockpiles and two African states have produced cluster munitions.

African states have the opportunity to be one of the first regions to be declared free of cluster munitions. Leadership from Africa to ban cluster munitions will send a strong message against any use of these weapons, saving lives and livelihoods around the world. It will build on past actions such as the declarations from Accra and Lomé meetings in 2012 and 2013. Joining the Convention is achievable and support is available to enable states to meet their obligations - whether it be stockpile destruction, annual reporting, victim assistance or clearance of cluster munitions remnants.

The Sixth Meeting of States Parties (6MSP) to the Convention on Cluster Munitions will take place in Geneva, Switzerland from 5 to 7 September 2016. At this meeting, States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions will report on progress made in implementing their treaty obligations and the Dubrovnik Action Plan. Signatory and non-signatory States will also be encouraged to provide updates on their progress and plans for ratification or accession of the Convention.





## Status of the Convention on Cluster Munitions in Africa, as of 10 June 2016

<b>States Parties</b>	Signatories	Non-signatories
1. Botswana	1. Angola	1. Algeria
2. Burkina Faso	2. Benin	2. Egypt
3. Burundi	3. CAR	3. Equatorial Guinea
4. Cameroon	4. Djibouti	4. Eritrea
5. Cape Verde	5. DRC	5. Ethiopia
6. Chad	6. Gambia	6. Gabon
7. Comoros	7. Kenya	7. Libya
8. Congo	8. Liberia	8. South Sudan
9. Côte d'Ivoire	9. Madagascar	9. Sudan
10. Ghana	10. Namibia	10. Zimbabwe
11. Guinea	11. Nigeria	
12. Guinea-Bissau	12. Sao Tome & Principe	
13. Lesotho	13. Tanzania	
14. Malawi	14. Uganda	
15. Mali		
16. Mauritania		
17. Mauritius		
18. Mozambique		
19. Niger		
20. Rwanda		
21. Senegal		
22. Seychelles		
23. Sierra Leone		L
24. Somalia	Note:	
25. South Africa	11000.	
26. Swaziland	Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic cannot accede to the Convention on Cluster Munitions due to its political status, but has expressed its support for the ban on cluster munitions.	
27. Togo		
28. Tunisia		
29. Zambia	inpressed its support for the bull on e	- Land Harring Harris Harri Harris Harri Harris Harris Harri Harris Harris Harris Harris Harris Harris Harris Harris Harr