

CONVENTION ON CLUSTER MUNITIONS (CCM) RATIFICATION SEMINAR Kampala, Uganda, 29-30 May 2017

BACKGROUND

The 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions is a legally binding international treaty that comprehensively prohibits the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of cluster munitions, requires destruction of stockpiled cluster munitions within eight years, and clearance of contaminated land within ten years. It recognizes the rights of individuals and communities affected by the weapon and require states to provide assistance. The Convention also obliges countries to assist affected states to fulfil their obligations.

Cluster bombs have killed and injured thousands of civilians over the last 70 years and continue to do so today. In all of the conflicts where these weapons have been used, they have left a predictable pattern of human suffering. It is this unacceptable harm that the Convention on Cluster Munitions was created to prevent.

As of May 2017, 119 states have joined the Convention on Cluster Munitions, of which 101 are States Parties, and the remaining 18 are signatories that have yet to ratify. Forty-three (43) of fifty-three (53) African countries have joined the treaty, demonstrating the **African continent's strong commitment for a region free of cluster munitions**. **13 African signatory-states** have yet to ratify with only 10 African states remain yet to accede to the Convention.

In December 2016, a **United Nations General Assembly resolution** (71/45) in support of the total ban on cluster munitions was supported by 141 countries. Forty-three (43) African states, including eleven (11) signatories and five (5) States not Party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions from the region voted in support of the resolution.

African States have the opportunity to be **one of the first regions to be declared free of cluster munitions.** Leadership from Africa to ban cluster munitions will once again send a strong message against any use of these weapons, thus saving lives and livelihoods around the world. It will build on past actions such as the declarations from the Accra (2012) and Lomé (2013) meetings and the 2016 Addis Ababa *Commitment on universalization and implementation of the Convention on Cluster Munitions*. Joining the Convention is achievable and support is available to enable States to meet their obligations - whether it is the implementation of national measures, annual transparency reporting, victim assistance, stockpile destruction or clearance of cluster munition remnants.



The Seventh Meeting of States Parties (7MSP) to the Convention on Cluster Munitions will take place in Geneva, Switzerland from 4 to 6 September 2017. At this meeting, States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions will report on progress made in implementing their treaty obligations and the Dubrovnik Action Plan. Signatory and non-signatory States will also be encouraged to provide updates on their progress and plans for ratification of or accession to the Convention.

States Parties	Signatory States	States not Party
1. Botswana	1. Angola	1. Algeria
2. Burkina Faso	2. Benin	2. Egypt
3. Burundi	3. CAR	3. Equatorial Guinea
4. Cameroon	4. Djibouti	4. Eritrea
5. Cape Verde	5. DRC	5. Ethiopia
6. Chad	6. Gambia	6. Gabon
7. Comoros	7. Kenya	7. Libya
8. Congo	8. Liberia	8. South Sudan
9. Côte d'Ivoire	9. Namibia	9. Sudan
10. Ghana	10. Nigeria	10. Zimbabwe
11. Guinea	11. Sao Tome & Principe	
12. Guinea-Bissau	12. Tanzania	
13. Lesotho	13. Uganda	
14. Madagascar		
15. Malawi		
16. Mali		
17. Mauritania		
18. Mauritius		
19. Mozambique		
20. Niger		
21. Rwanda		
22. Senegal		
23. Seychelles		
24. Sierra Leone		
25. Somalia		
26. South Africa		
27. Swaziland		
28. Togo		
29. Tunisia		
30. Zambia		

STATUS OF THE CCM IN AFRICA (as at 20 May 2017)