Croatia completes the destruction of its stockpiles of cluster munitions

The Presidency of the CCM, Nicaragua, is pleased to announce that the Republic of Croatia has declared fulfillment of its obligation under Article 3 pertaining to storage and stockpile destruction.

Our sincere congratulations to the Government of Croatia for its dedicated commitment to the CCM which has made the destruction of its stockpiles possible within the stipulated deadline. To date, there remain only 7 States Parties with obligations under Article 3 of the CCM.

8MSP registration


STEP 1 – Note Verbale

The details of delegations to the 8MSP should be submitted by Note Verbale by Friday, 17 August 2018, to the Secretariat of the 8MSP at the following address:

Office for Disarmament Affairs, Geneva Branch
Fax: +41 22 917 0034

STEP 2 – Online registration

If you no not already have a United Nations grounds pass, you need to register for the 8MSP in the online indico system. Please note that you will need to attach the note verbale or letter, including your name on the list of your delegation, as a mandatory document while registering on-line. If you forget to attach the requested document, the system will reject your registration . Instructions are available for reference. Recommended browsers are Firefox, Chrome and Microsoft Edge. For any queries, please contact

Once the application has been approved in Indico, you will receive via e-mail an e-ticket / QR code. A grounds pass valid for the duration of the Meeting of States Parties will be available for collection from the Pass and Identification Unit at the Pregny Gate of the Palais des Nations. Participants are advised to come to the Pregny Gate well in advance to allow enough time for security checks.

United Nations grounds passes can be collected from the Pass and Identification Unit at the Pregny Gate of the Palais des Nations. The e-ticket / QR code and valid passport or national identification card, will have to be produced in order to collect the grounds pass.

Spain gets rid of all its cluster munitions

Spain completed the destruction of its stockpile of cluster munitions months ahead of its stipulated deadline! The announcement was officially made through Note Verbale on 25 July 2018. The 8MSP Presidency, Nicaragua, warmly congratulates Spain for having completed its obligations under Article 3.

This major achievement as the first Stockpile Destruction deadlines fall due on 1 August 2018 is a cause for celebration and will continue to be celebrated by the CCM community at the upcoming 8MSP! Enhorabuena!

8MSP Provisional Agenda available

The Provisional Agenda for the upcoming 8MSP is now available on UNODA’s website.  Keep checking UNODA and the CCM websites regularly as conference documents will be gradually uploaded.

CCM/MSP/2018/1 – Provisional Agenda





Sri Lanka joins the Convention on Cluster Munitions

Congratulations to the government of Sri Lanka on its accession to the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM), thereby becoming the Convention’s 103rd State Party!

Sri Lankan officials deposited the accession instrument at the United Nations in New York on 1st March 2018 joining the increasing number of States that have undertaken to ban the weapon.

In accordance with its article 17 (2), the Convention will enter into force for Sri Lanka on 1 September 2018.

The Sri Lankan Campaign to Ban Landmines (SLCBL), led by its Coordinator, Mr. Vidya Abhayagunawardena, spared no efforts in advocating for the government of Sri Lanka to accede.

The Presidency of the Eighth Meeting of States Parties (8MSP), Nicaragua, warmly welcomes Sri Lanka as the 103rd State Party to the CCM and encourages other States that have not ratified or acceded to the Convention on Cluster Munitions to consider joining the Convention as a matter of priority.

Pacific Conference on Conventional Weapons Treaties




Pacific countries met in Auckland on 12-14 February 2018 in order to take stock and advance implementation of three treaties dealing with conventional weapons: the Arms Trade Treaty (2013), the Convention on Cluster Munitions (2008) and the Convention on the prohibition of the use, stockpiling and transfer of antipersonnel mines (1997).

The meeting was sponsored by New Zealand and Australia and supported by the three Geneva-based Implementation Support Units (ATT, APMBC and CCM). The meeting was also attended by the International Committee of the Red Cross and civil society representatives.

14 Pacific States participated in the meeting: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Please click on the links below to access conference documents:

Auckland Declaration on Conventional Weapons Treaties
Conference programme

Second and third 2017 annual transparency report submitted





Congratulations Uruguay for being the second State Party to have submitted its 2017 annual transparency report on 22 January, well ahead of the due date of 30 April. ¡Enhorabuena!






Following closely in third place is Mozambique, which submitted its report on 23 January, also well ahead of the due date. Parabéns Moçambique!

Uruguay and Mozambique, along with gold-medalist Saint Kitts and Nevis, are leading by example the importance of submitting annual transparency reports on time, as required by Article 7 of the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Reporting templates are available in all six UN languages.

First 2017 annual transparency report submitted






Congratulations to Saint Kitts and Nevis for having submitted its 2017 annual transparency report on 16 January 2018, making it the first State Party to have done so this year!

States Parties are required under Article 7 of the Convention on Cluster Munitions to submit their annual transparency report to the Secretary-General of the United Nations before 30 April of each year. The annual transparency report covers the previous calendar year (1 January to 31 December).